Being able to apologize

Posted: May 5, 2015 in Uncategorized

For many of us who have suffered spiritual abuse, there has been no attempt on the part of church leadership or even church “friends” to apologize to us. It was when my husband demanded that the church apologize to me that we were told to not bother coming back. A woman on the staff even told us that they had been instructed to never apologize for decisions that they have made. I, on the other hand, apologized profusely and constantly for sins that I was accused of though they would not specifically tell me what those sins were. I guess I was considered a bad person because I was willing to apologize which indicated that I was willing to admit that I was not perfect. They, on the other hand, apparently were perfect and they demonstrated it by their inability to apologize.

See, there's this thing called biology...

Being able to apologize is a sign of strength, not weakness. A couple of blogs I read today implied that one should never apologize, that it’s a sign of weakness, that it will just cause people to smell blood and go in for the kill.

Good grief!  Sometimes I feel like we need to go back to 4th grade and do a refresher course on basic manners and how to act like a human. This kind of foolishness is just tortuous to a mother’s heart.

Everybody, absolutely everybody, can cause unintentional or even intentional harm to others during the course of the day. Being aware of that is not weakness, its common sense. Actually, the ability to recognize and accept that truth, requires a certain amount of courage right out of the gate.

We don’t apologize on behalf of others so much, we apologize on behalf of ourselves. It’s simply…

View original post 610 more words

Leave a Reply

