My Level of Commitment Cannot Exceed Yours – Lenten Day 9

Posted: February 26, 2015 in Lent, Uncategorized, When Church Hurts
Tags: , , , ,

A few nights ago, one of the folks from our former church called.  Not to ask us how we are. Not to find out why they don’t see us around anymore.  Not to ask if we would like to get together.

They called to ask us for . . .  Deep breath . . . 

Money.

And I’m thinking, “Wow.”

Maybe if you cared just a little. Just enough to say, “We miss you and would like to see you sometime.” 

Theirs is a noble cause.  Though, I must say, I was a bit surprised that they called asking us for money since theirs is a wealthy family.  So why ask for our help?  Especially when our son has already told them that we are in the midst of helping our own family member who suffered a job loss a few weeks ago? 

There was a time when I would have said, “Let’s help.” Now, I’m not so quick to help those who haven’t given a whit about helping me. With a kind word. An invitation. A note in the mail. 

For too long, I gave generously. Sacrificially.  To those who neither needed my offerings nor wanted my friendship.  I have learned from their example that my level of commitment must not exceed theirs. To do so opens one up to abuses.  

Leave a Reply

