Imperfect Churches & Leaders – When Does It Become Spiritual Abuse?

Posted: February 22, 2015 in Uncategorized

I always appreciate authors whose writing validates my own and my experience. This is a well-written and well-thought-out synopsis of what spiritual abuse is. I especially like the introduction in which the author delineates the difference between “no church is perfect” and what makes a church or church leadership abusive. I hope this is helpful to those of you who follow or have come to my blog because you have been more than just “hurt” by something that happened in church or at the hands of Christians, but because you have been spiritually abused.

Confessions of a Recovering Perfectionist

When I tell people I’ve had some bad church experiences, well-meaning church-goers often respond with some version of, “yeah, no church is perfect…BUT…” and proceed to encourage me not to give up, to try this or that church, or some other similar suggestion. I’ve written some about those experiences and reactions in a previous post (Please Stop Trying to Get Me to Date Your Church). I smile and nod and end up feeling greatly misunderstood. As I have continued to journey and to reflect, I’ve realized that part of the disconnect is rooted in language. My friends often perceive that I’m talking about an average, imperfect, but overall okay church. As I have sorted out my experiences, I started realizing that I have some trauma reaction symptoms (sorry, I’m a therapist, can’t help but go there…) related to what I have been through. Eventually, I realized I had…

View original post 2,489 more words

Comments
  1. Thank you for sharing this blog post. I tried to re-blog the post but it wouldn’t allow me so I reblogged from the original source. Please continue to share your story. It makes me feel less alone. Thank you so much!

Leave a Reply

