Fishy Friday – Lenten Day 3

Posted: February 20, 2015 in Lent, Uncategorized, When Church Hurts
Tags: , , ,

Tonight, after I finish “judging” a group of ten and eleven-year-old soloists in their first contest of their instrumental music careers, I will join my husband at a local Mexican restaurant. We won’t be ordering fish.

Because I no longer feel the need to re-crucify Jesus any more. I’m pretty sure there’s scripture to support that – something about how we re-crucify Jesus – but I’m not even going to try to look it up.

Because now I’m pretty sold on the fact that “It is finished.”

So I am not mourning. I am not sacrificing anything this year for Lent. Because He sacrificed Himself. And that’s enough. In fact, He is the only one who can, so for me to think that I can win God’s favor by sacrificing anything at all of myself is a little arrogant.

And I don’t have to win God’s favor. Never did have to do that.

So tonight, I’m going to eat beef or chicken and I think I will order dessert just because it’s Friday and that’s cause for celebration all by itself.

Because it is finished. Hallelujah!

Leave a Reply

