A Healing Friend

Posted: May 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

So, so very true! To have a friend who would challenge the abuser at great cost to him or her self is so truly Christlike.

Thank you so much again for this wonderful insight.

Ellen

messytheology

“I know it’s a lot to ask, but I need you to believe me. My experience is real. It has redefined my life. I feel alone, because no one else sees it. I feel rejected, because no one else will risk facing it. I need you to take me seriously. I need you to walk this with me.”

David was still struggling to believe it himself. Saul, his beloved mentor, his idolized king, was also his manipulative abuser. After years of living in Saul’s home, fighting his battles, comforting his spirit, and being part of his family, the realization was just starting to sink in that David’s perception of their entire relationship had been a lie. Saul didn’t love him. Saul didn’t care two wits about him. Saul had only kept him close so that could control him, use him, and when that was finished, eliminate him.

A friend’s…

View original post 995 more words

Leave a Reply

