Astounding. I’m surprised anyone even knew that a trial was going to take place. It boggles the mind that these events can take place under these circumstances in a church and people are oblivious. As I’ve said many times (and learned from “The Subtle Power of Spiritual Abuse” by Johnson and VanVonderen) YOU DON’T HIDE WHAT’S APPROPRIATE! If what was happening was appropriate, there certainly should have been no reason to hide it from the person being accused! But then, the same thing happened to me at my previous church . . . I was tried, judged, and condemned without my knowledge and was never told what I had done wrong, either.

Musings from under the bus.

man_walking_away-1

On the day before the trial of Paul Petry I learned a few startling facts about how the elders were planning to conduct the trial. I was concerned so I thought I would reach out to the elders and appeal to them.

Here is the email I sent them: http://joyfulexiles.files.wordpress.com/2012/03/mars-hill-rob-smith-email-to-elders-10-14-2007.pdf

The subject line was : Please hold a fair and impartial trial – from Rob Smith

I included my name as most of the elders knew me, or at least knew who I was. I was not a stranger, and although I had several minor skirmishes with both Mark Driscoll and some of the other elders my reputation at Mars Hill was decent. Decent enough to be on the elder track – something that I did not actively seek out.

My skirmishes were almost always over how the elders treated members that they were trying to correct. I will review…

View original post 358 more words

Leave a Reply

