Tattling versus Interceding

Posted: March 2, 2014 in Uncategorized, When Church Hurts
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I’m a pretty transparent person.  You don’t have to guess with me.  What you see is what you get.  I never pretend to be perfect and I’m usually the first one to raise my hand and say, “Yep, that was me.  I really messed that up.”

And I really admire people who are willing to do that, too.  Because none of us are perfect (gasp!).  And, as Christians, we don’t have to be.  I think what we need to be mindful of is that we don’t need to maintain a facade of perfection, but that we are willing to admit our imperfections and when we mess up, we just say so.

“Wow, I messed that up.  I’m sorry.”

And an appropriate response from other Christians would be, “I know what that’s like.  I messed up, too.  I’m sorry, too.”

But, usually Christians – at least in my world – are pretty intent on tattling on one another.  “Did you hear about what she did?”

And, in my world, most of the time, whatever is being tattled is pretty inaccurate, one-sided, and said with a spirit of contempt.  Pretty much like those pharisees with that woman caught in adultery.

So this morning, I’m wondering, what if the people who claim they really want to do what Jesus would do quit their tattling and stood before others and did some interceding?  What if, instead of tattling or gossiping or condemning, or tale-bearing, they said something like this:

“Please forgive her for the wrong she has done.  Please look with favor on her because Jesus has paid the penalty for her sin.  Please have compassion.  Please see her the way God sees her.”

If she’s like me, there’s a good chance she is interceding for you.

Leave a Reply

