Christians: It’s OK to Apologize (to Non-Christians)

Posted: February 26, 2014 in Uncategorized

I found this post very applicable to my story. Here are the two “apologies” that I received from the senior pastor over the years:
“You were the victim of poor leadership” (no indication of what he was referring to) and an “I’m sorry” when I emailed him about his wife shaming me in front of several people. When I emailed back and asked him what he was “sorry” for, he did not respond.
Finally, we were dismissed from our church when my husband specifically said that they needed to apologize to me. Rather than apologize, we were told to leave. I have never heard a sermon in that church about going to someone and apologizing. Lots of sermons on forgiveness and grace but I don’t recall anything on saying, “I’m sorry.”
I do recall one staff person commenting that they were “trained” to never apologize for their decisions. Perhaps that explains it . . .

Stephen Mattson

Jesus never said “I’m sorry.” Sure, when he was being crucified, he cried out: “Father, forgive them, for they do not know what they are doing (NIV).” But technically he was apologizing on behalf of others and not for a sin he actually committed.

Apologizing is one of the only Christian virtues Jesus didn’t do himself.

Maybe this is why Christians rarely hear sermons or teachings about apologizing to non-Christians. Mainstream Christian culture teaches the opposite: believers are always right. The inner-circle perception is that Christians don’t make mistakes — only non-Christians do.

View original post 627 more words

Leave a Reply

