Dropping Stones

Posted: February 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

This post really made me think. I wonder if the woman told others what had happened? I wonder if she told people what the Pharisees had tried to do? Of course, she did! But the part of her story about what the Pharisees did was small in comparison to what Jesus did, and that’s the part of my story that’s been missing. The part that Jesus did and is doing. And that’s a whole lot bigger than what the Pharisees in my life ever did. That’s a good lesson for me. Boy, do I have a story for you!

Chris Martin Writes

One of my favorite stories from the entire Bible is about the woman who was caught in adultery. (John 8:1-11) The Pharisees were chomping at the bit to have her stoned. I can only imagine their frenzy as they dragged the woman to the temple courts where a certain celebrity was teaching. The Bible doesn’t say, but I wonder if they made a huge spectacle on their way to see Jesus. What were they saying to the woman as they neared the temple? Were they calling for other people to join them as they rushed to carry out what would surely be the Godly thing to do? End her life. Seal her fate. Write her off.

I can only imagine the condemnation being poured out from their self-righteous mouths, pushing her further down into the mire of her guilt and shame. Without even knowing who she was, or anything about…

View original post 451 more words

Leave a Reply

